Over 280K subscribers & 63 million views on our YouTube channel!

3 CDs For The Price Of 2 + FREE Shipping - Saving At Least £12.75

Fats Waller: Ain't Misbehavin' 1930s & 40s Jazz

(2 customer reviews)

Download: £7.00
CD: £10.00

Fats Waller, the Derby-hatted mountain of jollity is seated at the keyboard and spreading good cheer in all directions. His ability to transform even the most trite popular song into gold led to hundreds of classic recordings, his larger-than-life character and irrepressible humour bursting through, perfectly complementing the brilliance of the musical performance, creating that unique sound that was Fats Waller.
“It’s allowed me to more than re-live the past. I actually play duets along with Fats Waller in my own home!” Fred Mitchell, Dorset

Select a format

Audio CD
Audio Download


  1. Everybody Loves My Baby Fats Waller 0:30
  2. Cheatin' On Me Fats Waller 0:30
  3. It's A Sin To Tell A Lie Fats Waller 0:30
  4. When Somebody Thinks You're Wonderful Fats Waller 0:30
  5. You're Gonna Be Sorry Fats Waller 0:30
  6. Yacht Club Swing Fats Waller 0:30
  7. The Sheik Of Araby Fats Waller 0:30
  8. Twenty-Four Robbers Fats Waller 0:30
  9. Come Down To Earth, My Angel Fats Waller 0:30
  10. Carolina Shout Fats Waller 0:30
  11. Smoke Dreams Of You Fats Waller 0:30
  12. I Wish I Were Twins Fats Waller 0:30
  13. Got A Bran' New Suit Fats Waller 0:30
  14. Stop Pretending Fats Waller 0:30
  15. Clarinet Marmalade Fats Waller 0:30
  16. Don't Let It Bother You Fats Waller 0:30
  17. Blue, Turning Grey Over You Fats Waller 0:30
  18. African Ripples Fats Waller 0:30
  19. My Very Good Friend The Milkman Fats Waller 0:30
  20. The Curse Of An Aching Heart Fats Waller 0:30
  21. Shortnin' Bread Fats Waller 0:30
  22. The Jitterbug Waltz Fats Waller 0:30
  23. Your Feet's Too Big Fats Waller 0:30
  24. Old Grand Dad Fats Waller 0:30
  25. Ain't Misbehavin' Fats Waller 0:30


  • Fats Waller’s Greatest Hits
  • Exceptional Sound Quality
  • 25 Jazz Hits
  • Voted BBC Radio 2 Album Of The Week
  • Demonstrates His Piano And Vocal Skills

Everybody knows Fats Waller, the Derby-hatted mountain of jollity seated at the keyboard and spreading good cheer in all directions. And yet it was not until the final decade of his life that this particular Fats Waller was born. The other one – the pianist, composer and songwriter – had already been in existence for about fifteen years before that.

Born in 1904, by the age of twenty he was what we would nowadays call a session musician, working in radio and recording studios and theatres. In 1927, along with James P. Johnson, he wrote tunes for the show ‘Keep Shufflin’ and two years later the score of the Broadway hit ‘Hot Chocolates’. Among the three hundred-odd tunes he composed, many with lyrics by his friend Andy Razaf, are some of the best-loved melodies in the American songbook.

The metamorphosis into popular entertainer is said to have occurred at a party given by George Gershwin, a great lover of Harlem’s piano, a style characterised by an insistent ‘oom-pah’ left hand pattern. Having delighted and astonished the company with his virtuosity, and partaken of the liberal hospitality, Fats began singing and clowning around. Among those present was an executive of Victor Records, who recognised a born entertainer when he heard one and instantly fixed up for Fats to record some of his party pieces.



2 reviews for Fats Waller: Ain’t Misbehavin’ 1930s & 40s Jazz

  1. T Lindsay, Germany

    “I just wanted to write a brief note to thank you for your prompt and efficient service, and also for the excellent quality of your products. I would single out Fats Waller singing “My Very Good Friend the Milkman”, a recording that I’ve been trying to get hold of for years, but all the other recordings are also of outstanding quality, and are much appreciated. I shall be sure to recommend you to all those among my family and friends who enjoy listening to this kind of music. Thanks again, and keep up the good work!”

  2. C Triplett

    “Super, super album. Classic Fats, excellent recording!”

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Your Cart

Please Note:

Physical orders will be temporarily delayed for shipping until 25th May. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Amazon and Digital Downloads are unaffected.